Community Health Toolkit

What does the 'known' field signify on the user-settings doc?

On user-settings docs there is sometimes a field called known. If the field exists, the value is always true. What is the purpose of this field?

{
    "_id": "org.couchdb.user:user123",
    "_rev": "3-b5e5a70715a9ea9b4aa3d2b123456789",
    "name": "user123",
    "type": "user-settings",
    "known": true,
    "roles": [
        "district-manager",
        "kujua_user",
        "data_entry",
        "district_admin"
    ],
    "language": "en",
    "contact_id": "e3368be4-2374-482d-8fb8-125123456789",
    "facility_id": "04aec372-5c88-430a-89f4-fae123456789"
}
2 Likes

Here’s the documentation on user-settings.

1 Like

The known field is used to record if this is the first time the user has logged in. Users are created with known: false and when they first log in, we show them the tour popup, and then set known: true so they’re not nagged to take the tour next time.

2 Likes