New project in Zimbabwe

Hi there,

I’m a doctor based in rural Zimbabwe very keen to set up Medic Mobile for our hospital, most urgently for Covid surveillance but hopefully for so much more.

I had a great chat with Shreya but I have one very crucial question. Looking at the requirements for setting it up, I realise we are a little weak on the tech side and probably won’t be able to design our own system from scratch in time, given the steep learning curve. Is there a way we can borrow from the existing workflows from Kenya for example and adapt as necessary?

Thanks
Jonathan Fernandes

3 Likes

Hi @Jonathan_Fernandes,

It sounds like your primary challenge is in setting up and deploying the app. We are in the process of updating the CHT documentation site (to be released later this week). In the meantime, you can use this guide to help with getting started on building and deploying a CHT app. We have also created an Event Based Surveillance workflow and design for app configuration reference.

Hopefully this helps to get you started. Let us know how you progress towards the initial app build and EBS workflow deployment.

2 Likes

Hi @Max

Yes, that’s correct and thanks for your response. It is a big stumbling block for us because we are a little limited in technical expertise and even the time to set it all up. Would it be possible to lift a system that is already in use, for example in Kenya, and then tweak it to our own needs? Do you have contacts for the team in Kenya that we could reach out to?

Thanks,

Jonathan

1 Like

@Jonathan_Fernandes, As @Max has shared, we have surveillance CHT applications (notably the reference application linked above, but also those tailored to the Kenya context). As you suggest, these ready-made CHT Applications may be suitable to your context with minor tweaks.

cc: @philip from our Kenya team. We may need a few days to discuss privacy concerns with stakeholders in Kenya before sharing other application specifics.